Online Classroom

RoboCup@Home Education

Invited Lecture Series

Schedule

June 03, 2020 (Wed) 19:00~21:00 (GMT+8) | Jose Avendano

June 09, 2020 (Tue) 09:00~11:00 (GMT+8) | Luis Contreras

June 16, 2020 (Tue) 09:00~11:00 (GMT+8) | Luis Contreras

July 08, 2020 (Wed) 19:00~21:00 (GMT+8) | Sebastian Castro

August 03, 2020 (Mon) 15:00~17:00 (GMT+8) | The Grey Area

August 11, 2020 (Tue) 10:00~12:00 (GMT+8) | UBC Open Robotics

August 22, 2020 (Sat) 15:00~17:00 (GMT+8) | Danny Ng Wee Kiat

August 31, 2020 (Mon) 15:00~17:00 (GMT+8) | Changhe High School

September 2, 2020 (Wed) 17:30~19:30 (GMT+8) | LASR

September 30, 2020 (Wed) 21:00~23:00 (GMT+8) | RoboBreizh

In Preparation | Kanjanapan Sukvichai

Robotics Development with MATLAB

Robotics Development with MATLAB

Speaker: Jose Avendano | MathWorks

Date and Time:

  • June 03, 2020 (Wed) 19:00~21:00 (GMT+8 China/Malaysia)

  • June 03, 2020 (Wed) 07:00~09:00 (EDT New York)

  • June 03, 2020 (Wed) 13:00~15:00 (CEST Italy/France)

Highlights

  • ROS and MATLAB

  • Deep learning demos for object classification and emotion inference

Preparation

Open source code

Jose Avendano is a Robotics engineer from MathWorks specialized in the area of robotics education and student competitions. Other previous experience includes modeling and simulation of robot manipulators, projects on autonomous systems for deployment on zero-gravity applications, and robust estimation and control of flexible vehicles.

Robot Localisation: An Introduction

Robot Localisation: An Introduction

Speaker: Luis Contreras | Tamagawa University

Date and Time:

  • June 09, 2020 (Tue) 09:00~11:00 (GMT+8 China/Malaysia)

  • June 08, 2020 (Mon) 21:00~23:00 (EDT New York)

  • June 09, 2020 (Tue) 03:00~05:00 (CEST Italy/France)

Highlights

We will present the basic concepts for robot localisation in a known map from a probabilistic point of view. We will introduce the probabilistic model for robot motion and show you how to solve this problem using particle filters. At the end, we will introduce our online tutorial to start your projects using robot vision.

Open source code

World Representation Through ANN

World Representation Through Artificial Neural Networks: An Introduction

Speaker: Luis Contreras | Tamagawa University

Date and Time:

  • June 16, 2020 (Tue) 09:00~11:00 (GMT+8 China/Malaysia)

  • June 15, 2020 (Mon) 21:00~23:00 (EDT New York)

  • June 16, 2020 (Tue) 03:00~05:00 (CEST Italy/France)

Highlights

We will present a short introduction to Artificial Neural Networks and its application to Object Recognition and we will extend those concepts to Convolutional Neural Networks. Then, we will show you a number of available applications and datasets for your projects. Finally, we will show you a specific application to robot navigation.

Open source code

Luis Contreras received his Ph.D. in Computer Science at the Visual Information Laboratory, in the Department of Computer Vision, University of Bristol, UK, working on problems related to computer vision and robotics. Currently, he is a research fellow at the Advanced Intelligence & Robotics Research Center, Tamagawa University, Japan. He has also been an active member of the Bio-robotics Laboratory at the Faculty of Engineering, National Autonomous University of Mexico, Mexico. He has been working on service robots and has tested his latest results at the RoboCup and similar robot competitions for the last ten years.

Introduction to Natural Language Processing

Introduction to Natural Language Processing

Speaker: Sebastian Castro | MIT CSAIL

Date and Time:

  • July 08, 2020 (Wed) 19:00~21:00 (GMT+8 China/Malaysia)

  • July 08, 2020 (Wed) 07:00~09:00 (EDT New York)

  • July 08, 2020 (Wed) 13:00~15:00 (CEST Italy/France)

Highlights

A quick introduction to NLP, including popular approaches, models, and Python software packages.

  1. Basic text preprocessing, search, and parsing

  2. Representing text as features for statistical machine learning models

  3. Deep learning with language, including word embeddings, Recurrent Neural Networks, and Transformers

Open source code

Sebastian Castro is a robotics software engineer at the MIT Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory (CSAIL), working on home service robotics research with the Toyota Human Support Robot (HSR). He was previously the primary technical contact for RoboCup and robotics education at MathWorks. Sebastian holds a B.S. and M.S. in Mechanical Engineering from Cornell University, with a focus on dynamics, systems, and controls for robotics applications.

Development Towards World Champion

Development Towards World Champion

Speakers: The Grey Area | Macau Puiching Middle School

Date and Time:

  • August 03, 2020 (Mon) 15:00~17:00 (GMT+8 China/Malaysia)

  • August 03, 2020 (Mon) 03:00~05:00 (EDT New York)

  • August 03, 2020 (Mon) 09:00~11:00 (CEST Italy/France)

Highlights

An award-winning team from Macau:

  • Online Challenge 2020 - Gold Award (Junior)

  • Education Challenge 2019 - World Champion (Junior)

Technical development:

  • OpenPose to detect human postures

  • OpenVINO and YOLO for human and object detection

The Grey Area is an award-winning RoboCup@Home Education team from Macau Puiching Middle School.

  • RoboCup@Home Education Online Challenge 2020 - Gold Award (Junior)

  • RoboCup@Home Education Challenge 2019 - World Champion (Junior)

Team members:
Joshua Lei, Cristiano Afonso da Silva, Thomas Leong, Sebastien Sin
Coaches:
Thomas Lao, Kinda Lam

Taking Up a Challenge as an Engineer

Taking Up a Challenge as an Engineer

Speakers: UBC Open Robotics | The University of British Columbia

Date and Time:

  • August 11, 2020 (Tue) 10:00~12:00 (GMT+8 China/Malaysia)

  • August 10, 2020 (Mon) 19:00~21:00 (PDT Vancouver)

  • August 11, 2020 (Tue) 04:00~06:00 (CEST Italy/France)

Highlights

Double awards winner of RoboCup@Home Education Online Challenge 2020:

  • Silver Award (Open)

  • People's Choice Award

@Home Education Participants: Osman Baalbaki, Francisco Farinha, Nick Ioannidis, Simar Sidhu, Clément Thorens, Andrew Xie
Coaches: Pankaj Bagga, Pei Jia

UBC Open Robotics is an Engineering Design Team primarily composed of undergraduate students in fields ranging from Engineering to Computer Science to Arts at the University of British Columbia. This was the team's first year competing in any RoboCup competition. Despite receiving the TurtleBot 2 hardware mere weeks prior to the city lockdown they were able to stay organized and effectively meet competition requirements, receiving both the RoboCup@Home Education League's Silver Award and People's Choice Award!

Simulation of Service Robot in Gazebo

Simulation of Service Robot in Gazebo

Speaker: Danny Ng Wee Kiat | UTAR

Date and Time:

  • August 22, 2020 (Sat) 15:00~17:00 (GMT+8 China/Malaysia)

  • August 22, 2020 (Sat) 03:00~05:00 (EDT New York)

  • August 22, 2020 (Sat) 09:00~11:00 (CEST Italy/France)

Highlights

Live demo on developing service robot simulation in Gazebo.

  1. Creating a robot in Gazebo

  2. Interfacing with sensors and robot using ROS

  3. Creating actor and scenes in Gazebo

  4. Completing follower task in simulation

Open source code

Danny Ng Wee Kiat received the B.Eng. degree in electronics engineering from Multimedia University, in 2008 and the M.EngSc. degree from University Tunku Abdul Rahman, Malaysia, in 2012. His research interest includes the development of indoor robots, SLAM based navigation, microcontroller systems and robotic application.

Web Terminal Applications Based on Public API

Web Terminal Applications Based on Public API [Chinese]

Speakers: FantasyIT_Papper & Micro agent service | Hangzhou Changhe High School

Date and Time:

  • August 31, 2020 (Mon) 15:00~17:00 (GMT+8 China/Malaysia)

  • August 31, 2020 (Mon) 03:00~05:00 (EDT New York)

  • August 31, 2020 (Mon) 09:00~11:00 (CEST Italy/France)

Highlights

  • Gold and Bronze awards winner of RoboCup@Home Education Online Challenge 2020

  • Development of SoftBank Robotics Pepper robot

HRI Simulation in ROS Gazebo

Human-Robot Interaction Simulation in ROS Gazebo

Speakers: LASR | University of Leeds

Date and Time:

  • September 2, 2020 (Wed) 17:30~19:30 (GMT+8 China/Malaysia)

  • September 2, 2020 (Wed) 05:30~07:30 (EDT New York)

  • September 2, 2020 (Wed) 10:30~12:30 (UTC+1 UK)

Highlights

  • Champion of RoboCup@Home Education Online Challenge 2020

  • Development of Human-Robot Interaction simulation in ROS Gazebo

Design Of A Modular Architecture Using ROS

Design Of A Modular Architecture Using ROS: The Pepper Case

Speakers: RoboBreizh | Lab-STICC, ENIB

Date and Time:

  • September 30, 2020 (Wed) 21:00~23:00 (GMT+8 China/Malaysia)

  • September 30, 2020 (Wed) 09:00~11:00 (EDT New York)

  • September 30, 2020 (Wed) 15:00~17:00 (CEST Italy/France)

Highlights

  • Best Performance Award winner of RoboCup@Home Education Online Challenge 2020

  • ROS framework for SoftBank Robotics Pepper

RoboBreizh is a project of the RAMBO team of Lab-STICC, located at the European Center of Virtual Reality (CERV) of the National Engineering School of Brest (ENIB). It was launched in 2019 by Cédric Buche, Full Professor at ENIB. The current goal of this project is to create a team to be part of the Robocup 2021 Bordeaux edition.

ROS with AI

ROS with AI [Thai]

Speaker: Kanjanapan Sukvichai | Kasetsart University

Date and Time: In Preparation

Highlights

  • Simulation and real robots

  • ROS with AI

Kanjanapan Sukvichai is an Assistant Professor at Kasetsart University.